The 11th Hour
Lacrima Mortis
Style: Doom Metal
Release date: 27 January, 2012
Playing time: 52:12

This is the second album from Ed Warby's (Gorefest, Hail of Bullets, Ayreon) doom project. 'Burden of Grief' (2009) was his first release with the help of Rogga Johnsson (Ribspreader, Paganizer, Demiurg) to fill in the grunting vocals. On this new album Ed Warby takes once moren care of all the instruments and the clean singing. This time Pim Blankenstein (Officium Triste) helps out with the grunts.

'Lacrima Mortis' is a logical follow up, nice riffs, slow tempo and nice melodies are again the ingredients for a nice album. The grunts see to it that it sounds brutal at times and with cleaner and less heavy parts there is a nice balance. The music isn't very original, but how do you do that when you just want to make a nice doom album?

If you are a fan of Swallow the Sun or Isole you will like this new effort by Ed too. The control freak shows again that he is an instrumental centipede, who besides being a great drummer, is a great musician as well.


01. We All Die Alone
02. Rain on Me
03. The Death of Live
04. Tears of the Bereaved
05. Reunion Illusion
06. Nothing But Pain
07. Bury Me

Label: Napalm Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 25 January, 2012