Crossing the Universe
Style: Melodic Prog Rock
Release date: 4 March, 2011
Playing time: 63:54

Germany calling, more specific: X-ing from Munich. A band that has been around for a long time, they kicked off back in 1988 and "Crossing the Universe" is their third album, but to me they were a big unknown, so it was with a clean sheet and an open mind I put this album on.

And the first thing that struck me was that their music is solidly rooted in melodic rock with small adventures into prog rock territory, or so I thought because all of sudden they take a completely different approach to things: they take us down the road where the grand masters are known as Faith No More!

While most of their songs have more in common with Marillion and Queensr˙che in their more pop inspired moments, the introduction of funky FnM sounds did throw me a bit off early on. But the more I've listened to the album, the more it makes sense...

Not all of the more melodic songs are right on the money, but the FnM songs make up for the lost ground and ends up being the highlights on this album. Had they made an album packed with songs of the calibre of "Hey Mister Nice Guy", "Break the Wall of Silence" and "Unwritten Diaries" then we would have had a masterpiece on our hands.

Quite an unexpected experience; do give them a listen...

01. Crossing the Universe
02. Walk of Fame
03. Once Again
04. Feeling You Inside
05. Fallen from the Angels
06. Carry On
07. Talk to Me
08. Hope Behind My Eyes
09. Far Away from Home
10. Hey Mister Nice Guy
11. Break the Wall of Silence
12. Unwritten Diaries
13. When the Night Comes
14. Kick This Love Away
Label: Thunderblast Records
Distribution: Twilight Vertrieb
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 26 February, 2011
Website: www.xing-munich.de