...Of Wariwulfs and Bluotvarwes
Style: True Metal
Release date: 25 March, 2011
Playing time: 47:22

Album number nine from this German true metal combo. Wariwulfs?? I think they mean Werewolves, but what's in a name?!  First song is Manowar from start to finish nothing more and nothing less. Surprisingly enough this isn't what we get on the complete album. The band did change their style a bit. They introduce more American metal influences. "Undead Insanity" has riffs that could be from the Canadian band Annihilator. This is in my opinion a welcome change. I am not waiting for a complete Manowar clone, so this variety is very welcome.

Next track "Taste of Fear" is a rather heavy track too, but the sing a long refrains are also there. Another advantage is the more aggressive singing style that Sven uses in the first tracks. It makes it all a tad heavier. Regretfully this doesn't last the whole album, after the fourth track they return to the style we are used to from them. Teutonic true metal with easy refrains and rather German and ancient sounding. The vocals of Sven are o.k., but we have heard it all before. Fans of early Wizard albums will be happy again with this, but I find it a lost opportunity. If they had made an album in the style of the first 4 tracks, they would have gotten a higher rating. Now it is getting close to decent and average again, they keep it too much on the safe side. They finish like they started with a Manowar sounding song and the circle is complete.

Final conclusion is that Wizard made an album that will certainly find its way to their fans, but I don't think the rest of the metal fans will have sleepless nights because of it.


01. ...Of Wariwulfs and Bluotvarwes
02. Undead Insanity
03. Taste of Fear
04. Wariwulf
05. Messenger of Death
06. Sign of the Cross
07. Fair Maiden Mine
08. Hearteater
09. Hagr
10. Bletzer
11. Hagen von Stein

Label: Massacre Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 21 March, 2011
Website: www.myspace.com/wizardband