The Mercian Sphere
Style: Black Metal
Release date: 19 July, 2010
Playing time: 68:25

The mercian sphere is the second album of Winterfylleth, band formed in 2007 with the intention of honouring England's proud ancestral heritage. The coming of this new band on the scene can be categorised as "English Heritage Black Metal", as they form a deeply conceptual ensemble, starting from their name ("winter full moon", the first full moon in October).

Now is The Mercian Sphere living through the expectations one can have of such a deep-thinking act? 
It is undeniable to say this is a record of pounding black-metal, following all the recipes developed by pioneers Enslaved and Ulver. The album is musically precisely worked on, the moods are well-constructed and catchy.

This record is less about originality than it demonstrates ingenuity. From the first listening it is strong and echoes of a certain depth, but I consider it will be up to them to decide of their passage from the underground to the skies of the long lasting classics.


01. Gateway To The Dark Peak /
 The Solitary One Waits For Grace (The Wayfarer Pt I)
02. Awakens He, Bereft of Kinsmen (The Wayfarer Pt II)
03. The Fields Of Reckoning
04. Children Of The Stones
05. The Ruin
06. The Honour Of Good Men On The Path To Eternal Glory
07. To Find Solace... Where Security Stands
 (The Wayfarer Pt III)
08. When The Woods Were Young
9. A Valley Thick With Oaks
10. Defending The Realm

Label: Candlelight Records
Distribution: Plastic Head Music
Reviewed by: LyM
Date: 16 August, 2011