Oliver Weers
Evil's Back
Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 21 February, 2011
Playing time: 45:28

"Evil's Back" is the sophomore album from this Danish singer and his band. The album contains 11 well-produced and generally well-written songs supplying the Hard Rock fan with his fix of feel-good endorphins.

Oliver Weers' voice bears a strong resemblance to that of Kiss' Paul Stanley - some songs, in fact, sound as if they were taken out of a "Revenge" or "Animalize" recording session. Previously, Oliver's band has featured musicians with widely acknowledged skills - musicians such as bassist Marco Mendoza (Thin Lizzy, Whitesnake) and drummer Tommy Aldridge (Ozzy, Whitesnake, Patrick Rondat, Gary Moore). Admittedly the line-up in "Evil's Back" doesn't ring any bells with me but there certainly isn't any lack of talent through the album.

Despite its virtues, "Evil's Back" is ultimately one album out of countless similar. Using the analogy of a car, it's a vehicle that would be brilliant for straight highways but unable to prove its mettle with tricky bends or dense traffic, i.e. when the demands get more challenging. The sound seems pretty much inspired by U.S.A.-cultivated Hard Rock but comparisons with European bands such as Ten and Gotthard would not be too much out of place either.

Recommended listening: the hard rockin' 'Much Too Much' and the riff-laden 'Devil's Chain'.


01. Intro
02. Evil's Back
03. All My Life
04. Without You
05. Hero
06. Need it Bad
07. Beautiful Rain
08. Much Too Much
09. Fighting the Mountains
10. Devil's Chain
11. Demolition Man
12. Rainbow Star

Label: Target Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Chris Galea
Date: 6 February, 2011
Website: www.myspace.com/oliverweersband