Virtual Time
Style: Melodic (Power) Metal
Release date: 2010
Playing time: 54:43

Waterland is a melodic (power) metal band from Portugal and is a project created by guitar player Miguel Gomes (Oratory). Waterland released a self titled demo in 2008 that was quite good but with a production that could have been more bombastic and more powerful.

Now they are back with another release that follows the same path as their first one and the title is 'Virtual Time'. This time the production has improved and the songs are a bit more powerful but still very melodic. The band have an ability to write a catchy chorus and that shows in songs such as;"Destiny II", "Queen of Light" and my personal favorite "Carry On". But well... the rest of the songs are enjoyable as well.

I would like the band to throw their music up in the air for everyone to hear and see and make it more bombastic and even more powerful. They are on the right track with 'Virtual Time' but there's still room for improvement. And maybe they should skip the cheesy keyboard intros we get in almost every song... 'cause they sound a bit outdated.

Waterland is not for everyone but melodic metal fans should at least check it out.


01. Destiny II
02. Wait Forever
03. New Winds of Time
04. Virtual Time
05. Queen of Light
06. A Passage to Eternity
07. Carry On
08. The Prophecy
09. New World
10. A Rainbow in the Night
11. You and I

Label:  -
Provided by: Waterland
Artwork rating: 60/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: 27 January, 2011
Website: www.myspace.com/waterlandband