Voices of Extreme
Break the Silence
Style: Heavy Rock
Release date: 22 July, 2011
Playing time: 35:10

With the members included in this band, it is not strange you expect something good. Don Chaffin on vocals, Bob Brennan handling the bass, Nick Gertsson and Robert Kathrikh (Until Destiny, Doro) both guitar and finally John Macaluso (TNT, Yngwie, Ark) on drums. Insiders know that the record was already released by the band in 2010, but is now re-released by Metalville.

I have to admit that VOX made quite an impression on me. It is not the style I listen to daily, but it is of high quality. Don Chaffin has a beautiful and powerful voice which already takes the songs to a higher level. The songs are well written and there is enough variation. "Tell Me what it takes" is a perfect radio-friendly song in a Nickelback-way which could be played on every radio station. Other tracks are more post-grunge tracks combined with 80's melodic hard rock and in some of the tracks I even hear resemblances with Godsmack and Disturbed ("Blown Away"). The album rocks and even the semi-ballad "Break the Silence" can convince me. Most modern track is "Numb"; it sounds mechanical and has a shredding guitar solo. Influences of Rage against the Machine and Skintrade (who remembers them?) can also be heard.

This is in my opinion an album that probably will get more credit within a few years than at the moment. If you ask me this is a band that should get the same respect as Nickelback and Godsmack. They deserve it to be picked up by a lot of people; the music is strong enough.


01. Damned
02. Tell Me what it takes
03. Apocalypse
04. Break the Silence
05. Numb
06. Did it Again
07. Hollow
08. Made of Stone
09. Blown Away
10. Sorry

Label: Metalville
Distribution: Rough Trade
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 17 July, 2011
Website: www.myspace.com/voicesofextreme