Opus Mortis VIII
Style: Death Metal
Release date: 26 April, 2011
Playing time: 36:32

Yes, this is indeed their 8th album. Their 7th album 'Carnage Euphoria' was a very good one, and perhaps the best in their existence. Swedish old school death metal with blasting drums and raging riffs is the formula, although I have to say that this album has more variety. There is a slower track with "Shrouded in Darkness", a more melodic one: "They Will Burn" and a track with a "South of Heaven" touch, called "Hate in a Time of War".

For the bigger part the music is what everyone will expect from Vomitory, short and brutal death tracks hammering away. The limited edition features four bonus tracks, which are re-recorded Vomitory classics from their first two albums. "Nervegasclouds, "Raped in Their Own Blood", "Redemption" and "The Voyage" are the chosen ones. I have to admit that I like this band; they have short tracks which are brutal and come to the point very fast. No long repetition of riffs thrown into a 7 minute song, just short and brutal.

Vomitory should be proud again about this album and can hit the road unconcerned in 2011.


01. Regorge in the Morgue
02. Bloodstained
03. They Will Burn
04. The Dead Awaken
05. Hate in a Time of War
06. Torturous Ingenious
07. Forever Damned
08. Shrouded in Darkness
09. Combat Psychosis
10. Requiem for the Fallen

Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 80/100
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 20 April, 2011
Website: www.vomitory.net