Visions of Atlantis
Style: Symphonic Metal
Release date: 25 February, 2011
Playing time: 43:44

Symphonic Metal needs to be bombastic, powerful and emotional, something "Delta" has in abundance. Almost four years has passed since their latest offering "Trinity" was released and I feel they have used the time wisely to refine the sound, integrate new vocalist Maxi Nil in their sound and improve on areas that needed improvement; song writing and Mario Plank's singing.

It is very hard to stand out in a genre that has gone a bit stale over the last couple of years and even though "Delta" shows Visions of Atlantis in their best shape ever, it is still "only" a good female fronted symphonic metal album. It has all the signatures, sounds and feels just right and the production is good, but they are never pushing the boundaries. The sound on "Delta" is better defined and rounded and the songs are more diverse and harder, but we still end up with a very safe release, but also one that will please genre fans a lot.

2011 looks to be a fine year for female fronted symphonic metal; fine albums from Visions of Atlantis and Sirenia have already seen the light of day, a Nightwish album is in the making and Within Temptation will be available shortly. And this is one of the albums you need to pick up if you are into this genre!

01. Black River Delta (4:34)
02. Memento (6:38)
03. New Dawn (2:59)
04. Where Daylight Falls (4:11)
05. Conquest of Others (5:37)
06. Twist of Fate (4:31)
07. Elegy of Existence (3:36)
08. Reflection (4:16)
09. Sonar (1:27)
10. Gravitate Towards Fatality (5:55)
Label: Napalm Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 27 February, 2011