A Fragile King
Style: Death Metal
Release date: 31 October, 2011
Playing time: 41:55

After the tragic passing of his father, Gregor Mackintosh (Paradise Lost) needed an outlet and he wrote some devastating death/doom songs, which we all now can enjoy on this album. He found friends to help him out with the other instruments and not the worst ones; Hamish Glencross (My Dying Bride) on guitars, Mully (rhythm guitars), Scoot (Doom, Extinction of Mankind) on bass and Adrian Erlandsson (At the Gates, Paradise Lost) on drums.

The music is a mix of early Paradise Lost, My Dying Bride and Nihilist/Entombed/Carnage. Greg went back to his roots and wrote some very brutal and heavy songs. Imagine the slow early Paradise Lost style combined with the early Entombed (Nihilist) beat and melancholy guitars. Greg's low rubbing grunts put the icing on the cake and make this record a top album. This is the perfect combination of British doom and Swedish death metal. A happy match that certainly asks for more.

For everyone that wants a good sounding doom/death album - the way it was meant to sound.


01. All Will Suffer
02. Desecration
03. Ravenous Whore
04. Cathedrals of Dread
05. As the World Collapses
06. A Thousand Martyrs
07. Seeds
08. Humanity Wept
09. My Black Siberia
10. The Divine Have Fled                                    11. The Grim Irony

Label: Century Media
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 20 October, 2011