Toby Hitchcock
Mercury's Down
Style: Melodic Rock
Release date: 26 August, 2011
Playing time: 56:17

This is another album from Frontiers Records this fall that will be a milking cow for them, because they releases 3 monster albums at the same day; Work Of Art's 2nd album and Xorgin's debut album, as well as this: the super vocalist Toby Hitchcock and the amazingly talented mega musican Erik Martensson release this brilliant recording. Erik Martensson is the man behind W.E.T with Jeff Scott Soto (another great album as information if you didn't know that).

The expectations of this album was sky high, after the early samples that you could get on youtube and nobody will get disapointed with the final product. Toby Hitchcock's earlier experience is as the lead singer in Pride Of Lions and on " Mercury's Down" he shows both depth, power and sensitivity in his singing voice. All instruments on the album are played by Erik and all the songs is writtten by him as well, so actually they should name the band Erik Mårtensson featuring Toby Hitchcock.

Whatever, these 12 tracks fills me with energy and a positive feeling in these hard times and the wall-of sound production is astounding and it's sad to say, but it is not likely that this super constellation will ever be on a stage as a live band. As a kind of consolation rumors has it that there are plans for a 4th PoL album next year, so hopefully they will be out on tour?

If you are a fan of the AOR and melodic rock genre this is another "must buy album"!

My special favourite tracks are: "A Different Drum", "Mercury's Down" and "This is the Moment".

01: This is the Moment
02: Strong Enought
03: How to Stop
04: Let Go
05: One Day I'll Stop Loving You
06: I Should Have Said
07: If It's to Be (Its Up to Me)
08: Just Say Goodbye
09: Summer Nights in Cabo
10: Tear Down the Barricades
11: A Different Drum
12: Mercury's Down
Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Patrik Skoglund
Date: 16 August, 2011