The Project Hate MCMXCIX
Bleeding the New Apocalypse (Cum Victriciis In Manibus Armis)
Style: Atmospheric Death Metal
Release date: 24 February, 2011
Playing time: 55:48

The band started in 1998 (although the Roman figures do mislead you) with Jörgen Sandström (Entombed, Grave) and Lord K. Philipson (God among Insects) as the main members. The music of the band goes a lot further than their other bands. The combination of heavy down tuned death metal and more industrial and electronic influences supported by prominent keyboard parts isn't always easy to digest. But when you take the time and listen to it with an open mind you will be convinced for sure.

With new female vocalist Ruby Roque, they create a beautiful contrast. She has a very powerful voice. The combination of the gutter grunts of Jörgen and the clean vocals of Ruby gives the music a nice atmosphere. The epic tracks are rather long and have a sound track kind of radiance, just listen to "They Shall All Be Witness" and you will understand it. The production of Dan Swäno is very massive and with Leif Edling and Mike Wead as guests things can't go wrong.

Not an album that is easy to understand after one spin, but it has to grow and grow. Take the time and let the spell of their music bewitch you, you will not regret it.


01. Iesus Nazarenus, Servus Mei
They Shall All Be Witness
A Revelation Of Desecrated Heavens
Summoning Majestic Victory
The Serpent Crowning Ritual
Bring Forth Purgatory

Label: Season Of Mist
Distribution: Season Of Mist
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 16 February, 2011