The Poodles
Style: Melodic Rock
Release date: 15 April, 2011
Playing time: 56:47

Swedish melodic rock band the Poodles possess ’70s classic rock harmonies, la Journey, Queen and Foreigner. They have a very radio-friendly sound, but it’s melodic and catchy as hell.

Formed in 2006, Performocracy is their fourth full-length studio album. It’s a little less heavier than 2009’s Clash of the Elements, which was very good in itself, but there’s loads of hooks, catchy melodies and melodic vocal harmonies all over the new album. The compositions are more epic with a darker element, yet, the songs’ messages are positive. The band has a lot of talent for songwriting. They know where their place is in the genre, and they know how to craft high-emotional melodic rock songs.

Vocalist Jakob Samuel is the key to The Poodles’ sound. He carved out a name for himself in the power metal band Midnight Sun along with guitarist Magnus Karlsson of Primal Fear/Allen/Lande fame. He’s a great frontman with a commanding voice. He has no problem hitting the high notes, but he also has a gruffer mid-range voice as well.

“Cuts Like A Knife” is their first single and video. It has all the elements of top-notch melodic rock; great harmonizing chorus, melodious hooks and soaring vocals. “As Time is Passing” is a melodic ballad full of emotion, reminding me of Queen-like harmonies. Guitarist Henrik Bergqvist pulls off a great David Gilmour-like harmony solo on “Love is All”.

Don’t let the name turn you off, these guys are highly talented. If catchy, melodic rock is your thing, then Performocracy is a winner.


01. I Want It All
02. Until Our Kingdom Falls
03. Father to a Son
04. I Believe in You
05. Cuts Like a Knife
06. As Time Is Passing
07. Love Is All
08. Your Time Is Now
09. Action!
10. Bring Back the Night
11. Vampire’s Call
12. Into the Quiet Night
13. Don’t Tell Me (Bonus track)

Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kelley Simms
Date: 16 April, 2011