Teodor Tuff
Style: Power Metal
Release date: 13 January, 2012
Playing time: 74:15

One thing I don't get is why you put 23 minutes of silence at the end of the eleven songs, only exception is at the very end where a guy turns up to say: "and stop" in Norwegian, a complete waste of time! But the 51 minutes that precede that are a very positive surprise...

While their first album should have clear 70s references this one has strong references to Scandinavian power metal with fine twists and turns into various other territories. Teodor Tuff sounds fresh and unspoiled, even though Sonata Arctica comes to mind more than once, and their songs are well written and performed. The powerful production fits the music very well, to no surprise, since the album has been mixed and mastered by Jacob Hansen.

Only remaining members from the debut album are main song writer and guitarist Knut Lysklætt and drummer Knut Hellem. They have been joined by the Harøy brothers Rayner (bass) and Christer (guitars), who are also playing in Divided Multitude and along with their cousin Terje Harøy on vocals they complete the current line-up. Christer Harøy do as some of you know have a background in Triosphere and one of many guests is Ida Haukland (vocals, Triophere) and Espen Kløften (keyboards, Divided Multitude) is also helping out. The list goes on and here we are talking international names: Jeff Waters (Annihilator), Mattias IA Eklundh (Freak Kitchen) and Martin Buus (Mercenary) do all contribute with some lead work on the album.

But they don't have to pull out big names to bring this album up to an international level, no each and every song stands out and shows a young and dynamic band that has a clear vision of the direction they want to take their music. I keep going back to the last song "Tower of Power", perhaps their most straight forward song, but with a addictive riff and a brilliant chorus, but the rest is equally strong and I am sure other will pick another song as their favorite.

"Soliloquy" has been out on digital media for some time, but if you want a hardcopy then I suggest you pick it up early 2012, because it offers first class power metal that should please many metal fans.

Good one!


01. Godagar (1:51)
02. The Last Supper (5:09)
03. Addiction (4:03)
04. Mountain Rose (5:15)
05. Hymn (For an Embattled Mind) (4:19)
06. Delusions of Grandeur (5:14)
07. Heavenly Manna (6:41)
08. Deng's Dictum (4:46)
09. Lullaby (3:25)
10. Mind Over Matter (4:44)
11. Tower of Power (5:20)
12. Bonus track (23:06)

Label: Fireball Records
Distribution: Gordeon Music
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 28 December, 2011
Website: www.teodortuff.com