Symphony X
Style: Power Prog Metal
Release date: 17 June, 2011
Playing time: 62:54

Considering the history of prolific creation the band has behind them, prog connoisseurs may ask themselves how Symphony X could possibly go one better. The answer comes from Russell Allen himself: ”Iconoclast delivers a summary of our previous work and a musical positioning of Symphony X within the second decade of the new century.” To do so, founder Michael Romeo on his side, raises the bar enormously with his guitar work.

This manifesto of power prog metal of the most pompous sort catches the listener's attention at once, but one won't tire of it at once; on the contrary several runs will be necessary to embrace the variety of moods and layers on the multifaceted band's newest achievement.

Whether you, like me, got to know Iconoclast the live way during Symphony X's tour with Nevermore last winter or on record first, you already know all this.Yet, you feel compelled or you don't.


01. Iconoclast (10:51)
02. The End of Innocence (5:27)
03. Dehumanized (6:47)
04. Bastards of the Machine (4:56)
05. Heretic (6:24)
06. Children of a Faceless God (6:20)
07. Electric Messiah (6:13)
08. Prometheus (I Am Alive) (6:46)
09. When All Is Lost (9:10)

Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Warner Music (Denmark)
Reviewed by: LyM
Date: 18 October, 2011