Eye on the Sky
Style: Melodic Metal
Release date: 25 March, 2011
Playing time: 43:52

For various reasons I feel that it is not always wise to include a cover version on an album, especially your debut album, but on this album it makes perfect sense and they couldn't have a better song to cover. With the inclusion of Black Sabbath's "Headless Cross" they have shown exactly where the basics for this album lays; melodic and powerful heavy metal  and I see no reason not to include a song like this when you have a vocalist, who can handle it and it represents your roots so well.

Stargazery hails from Finland and even though their foundation is based on the sounds of  bands like Rainbow, Whitesnake and Black Sabbath, there is still plenty of room for more powerful sounds, where bands like Astral Doors, Royal Hunt and Sonata Arctica come to mind. While the combination has been heard like a million times before, what matters is how well you do it.

And Stargazery has composed a strong debut album, and shows that they have the skills to stand out. Don't expect this to sound original, it doesn't, but expect a solid piece of melodic metal that should appeal to fans of any of the above mentioned bands.

01. Dying (3:58)
02. Everytime I Dream of You (5:29)
03. Eye on the Sky (4:07)
04. How many Miles (3:47)
05. I am the Night (3:28)
06. Jester of Kings (3:16)
07. Judah (The Lion) (4:55)
08. Puppet on a String (3:34)
09. S.O.S (4:27)
10. Headless Cross (6:51)
Label: Pure Legend Records
Distribution: Twilight
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 14 March, 2011