Split Heaven
Street Law
Style: NWOBHM/Speed Metal
Release date: 29 April, 2011
Playing time: 37:38

Split Heaven is a Mexican band that already released 2 albums, 'Split Heaven' and 'Psycho Samurai'. With this third album they cross my path for the first time. The band's roots are deeply soiled in the 80s; Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Crimson Glory, Running Wild, Accept, Helloween and a tad of Savatage can be traced in their songs.

The first thing that caught my attention were the high pitched vocals of Eli Valenzeala. His high vocals are typical for their style and sometimes remember me of Crimson Glory or Toxic. The songs are rather catchy and it all breaths out a mix of classic 80s heavy and speed metal. You can call it very retro if you like. They bring nothing new, but that isn't the idea behind it, it is just nice beautiful music for fans of the mentioned genres. You need to be a fan of the high vocals and then you will have no problem with this record. This band takes you back in time to songs based on nice bass lines and with galloping guitar riffs all screamed together by high pitched vocals.

Far from original, but very decent done by this Mexican band.


01. Time Warrior
02. The Devil isn't Fool
03. Night of the Jaguar
04. Street Law
05. Servants of the Night
06. Lonewolf
07. Road to Nowhere
08. Red Light District
09. Nightfall
10. The Obscure

Label: Pure Steel Records
Distribution: Pure Steel Records
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 27 April, 2011
Website: www.myspace.com/splitheaven