Spellbound Dazzle
Unreal Fairytales
Style: Weird poppy metallic groovy Rock/Metal
Release date: 28 January, 2011
Playing time: 48:32

These Italians come up with a very promising debut if you ask me. Immediately after the intro the very commercial and singable song "Goodbye My Love" takes your attention and it will not go out of your head for days. There are many familiar influences in their songs; one band that comes to mind very often is System of a Down, like in the track "SBD" and the music breath out Mr Bungle many times as well.

Modern grooving metal with danceable parts, a lot of tempo-changes and progressive elements combined with folk and polka rhythms. Other influences I hear are Extreme, Kiss ("The Foolin' of Each Other), Anthrax (a part of "So Close") and even tunes of Metallica's "Orion" ("Rullo"). Poppy groovy music with a metallic edge. The vocals of Stekovic Kreso sound similar to Serj Tankian at times, sometimes screaming and shouting, then again high kind of hysteric and clean. In "So Close" the accordion (probably keyboard) makes it a very folky song and if you want a song you can spend the next Christmas with, you should listen to the Balkan (Russian) influenced polka song "Ruska". Besides the use of the piano there are fortunately enough metallic edgy parts in the songs. That the band has a sense of humour can be seen in the title ”When I Touch Myself".

For me this is an album that will find its way into my car regularly. It is very contagious music and it makes me smile all the time. If you dig a combination of System of a Down, Kiss, Extreme, Mr. Bungle and Living Colour with poppy influences, groovy songs and folky parts at times, I almost know for certain you will like this. With producer Siggi Bemm (Kreator, Lacuna Coil) behind the buttons this albums sounds like a clock.

First debut surprise of the year!


01. Intro
02. Goodbye My Love
03. The Foolin' of Each Other
04. SBD
05. So Close
06. Monster
07. In my Room
08. Rullo
09. Spaceman
10. W.I.T.M.S (When I Touch Myself)
11. Ruska
12. Outro

Label: Limited Access Records
Distribution: Intergroove
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 4 January, 2011
Website: www.myspace.com/spellbounddazzle