Sons of Seasons
Style: Melodic Symphonic Metal
Release date: 1 April, 2011
Playing time: 66:02

Second album by this Symphonic power metal band. Mastermind behind this band is Oliver Palotai (Kamelot, Doro). Their debut album 'Gods of Vermin' was already very good, but this one pleases me even more. The band already toured with Epica and did some festivals opening for bands like Kreator and Edguy. Henning Basse whom we all know from the band Metalium is the singer and I was never too happy about his sound, but I don't have this problem on the Sons of Seasons album.

Besides his clean singing, he at times uses a bit rougher style and he doesn't sing too high, which he did too often on the Metalium albums. What makes this album one of the better ones this year is the consistency in song writing. Every song has the same high quality and there is enough variation between the several songs. Of course you can hear the Kamelot influences, but that is just a small part. The style is progressive, symphonic, bombastic, melodic and heavy all together. The guitar riffs sound heavy and not too clean and the keyboard parts are sometimes neoclassical. Music that will be liked by progressive as well as power metal fans. Like on the first album Simone Simons (Epica) sings on one of the tracks ("Sanctuary") and of course she does a good job.

Recommended to fans of Kamelot, Pagan's Mind and all who like heavy riffed bombastic symphonic music with some big choir parts.


01. Magnisphyricon: Temperance
02. Bubonic Waltz
03. Soul Symmetry
04. Sanctuary
05. Casus Belli I: Guilt's Mirror
06. Magnisphyricon: Adjustment
07. Into the Void
08. A Nightbird's Gospel
09. Tales of Greed
10. Lilith                                                           11. Casus Belli II: Necrologue to the Unborn         12. Magnisphyricon: The Aeon                            13. 1413                                                            14. Yesteryears

Label: Napalm Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 29 March, 2011