Slaves to Fashion
Artistic Differences
Style: Progressive Rock
Release date: 8 February, 2011
Playing time: 44:27

Torfinn Sirnes and his compatriots have grown from release to release and "Artistic Differences" is without a doubt their most complete and mature release so far. There are worlds between these songs and their early material released under the Pedestrians of Blue moniker, which reached it's zenith with their debut album "Crossing Over" in 2007. They've also released an EP back in 2009 as Slaves to Fashion.

But they are still the black sheep in the fold; not fitting in anywhere! Their music is a nice blend of melodic rock, pop and progressive rock, but they are too straight forward to be called progressive rock, too hard to be called pop and too innovative to be melodic rock. Not fitting in might not be as big a disadvantage as you might think because their music is strong enough to receive attention all over the spectre.

Slaves to Fashion have recorded a challenging rock album that needs a few spins to blossom and open up. But once you get the music under your skin you'll discover the many finer details and layers that makes this album a great listening experience. Topped by a very good production they've once more done a good job, now it's up to the rock fans to get into their musical universe.

Good one!


01. Love You Back
02. Mrs. Hero
03. Made To Meet My Eyes
04. Superstar (I Want Out)
05. Empty Chairs
06. Hands
07. Left Out in the Cold
08. Out of Here
09. Libido Ride
10. Facts On The Ground

Label: Hands of Blue Records
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 26 May, 2011