Style: Punk/Glam/Rock/Metal
Release date: 9 June, 2011
Playing time: 37:43

On their debut album, Hated, Swedish rockers SISTER deliver 11 songs of glam/sleaze rock with a punchy punk rock flavor.

Their chord progressions are simple, but infectious. They play loud and dirty, but instill loads of melody into each song. Their use of multi-layered vocal harmonies and gang shout vocals play to their strengths.

The rhythm section of drummer Cari and bassist Rikki really lock into a solid groove and hold the fort down while guitarist Lestat provides his melodic punk rock vibe. Vocalist Jamie has a rough and raspy vocal style, yet he’s capable of pulling off softer, emotional songs like the ballad “Would You Love a Creature.”

The thing that works the best for SISTER is their huge, catchy choruses. The whole band contributes to the backing vocals, creating a huge wall of multi-layered vocals. There’s nothing flashy about the music, it’s just uncompromising, straight ahead rock songs that grab you by the balls. Being signed to Metal Blade Records doesn’t hurt, either.

This is a fun and infectious punk/glam/rock/metal album.


01. Radioactive Misery
02. Body Blow
03. Bullshit & Backstabbing
04. Hated
05. Motherfuckers (Like You)
06. Werewolves on Blackstreet
07. Spit on Me
08. The Unlucky Minority
09. Would You Love a Creature
10. Too Bad for You
11. Drag Me to the Grave

Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kelley Simms
Date: 3 June, 2011