The Enigma of Life
Style: Symphonic Gothic Metal
Release date: 21 January, 2011
Playing time: 54:38

I have been quite into this Norwegian band ever since I heard a track called "My Mind's Eye" from Sirenia's 2007 release 'Nine Destinies and a Downfall'. Their 2009 release 'The 13th Floor' did not disappoint me either. And now they are back with a brand new release called 'The Enigma of Life'.

We get 12 songs of melodic symphonic gothic metal with quite crunchy guitars. Ailyn's beautiful voice is all over the album and the song writing is strong in my humble opinion. No matter how hard I try I can't resist songs such as; “The End of It All”, “Fallen Angel” and “All My Dreams”. There's just something cozy about their music.

The symphonic passages fits right in between, over and under the guitars and that completes the album. Most of the songs are mid-tempo rockers but they close the album with the title-track... a quiet tinkling ballad that shouldn't be ignored.

All in all a solid gothic metal release from Sirenia once again.

Check'em out.


01. The End Of It All
02. Fallen Angel

03. All My Dreams

04. This Darkness

05. The Twilight In Your Eyes

06. Winter Land

07. A Seaside Serenade

08. Darkened Days To Come

09. Coming Down

10. This Lonely Lake

11. Fading Star

12. The Enigma Of Life
Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Warner Music (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 50/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: 27 March, 2011