Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: 24 June, 2011
Playing time: 53:10

'Beneath the Remains', 'Arise', two thrash grenades that every true thrash fan must own. 'Chaos A.D.' and 'Roots' followed and made the band one of the bigger ones under the flag of Roadrunner. The departure of the Cavalera brothers changed a lot and with Derrick Green behind the mike they made some decent albums like 'Against', 'Nation' and 'Roorback', but the popularity declined. For all of that time Andreas Kisser has kept believing in the band and they are still around. With the concept albums 'Dante XXI' and 'A-Lex' they chose a different path, but the fans of the early albums did not return.

Those fans, who are still waiting for a second 'Arise' or 'Chaos A.D' have to wait again, perhaps the next album, but I'm pretty sure that the band doesn't want and need to make an album that sounds like one of these two. We all aren't 20 years old anymore and everyone develops and I must admit that the new album 'Kairos' is one that I like. It isn't as strong as their early albums, but it is definitely better than the last two. There is again a lot of variety and Derrick screams and shouts like he's being chased by a hurdle of wolves. First two tracks are mid-tempo songs that aren't the strongest on the album, but starting with "Relentless", "Dialog", "Mask" and "No One Will Stand" (hardcore-like track) the better songs are at hand. In between they present their version of Ministry's "Just One Fix", not a bad version but like always, the original.......

The songs are again groovy and on the industrial track "Structure Violence" they got the help from French percussionists Les Tambours Du Bronx. A nice try, but I would have liked a normal song better. Why the band separates the songs with some totally useless half-minute sounds, I don't know and it tempers the tempo. Last track, hidden in "4648" is a cover song again: "Firestarter" from The Prodigy. With 2 cover songs, an Industrial track and two weaker tracks the album is just above average, but next time only own songs and in my opinion it will be a real hammer again.


01. Spectrum
02. Kairos
03. Relentless
04. 2011
05. Just One Fix
06. Dialog
07. Mask
08. 1433
09. Seethe
10. Born Strong
11. Embrace the Storm                                      12. 5772                                                           13. No One Will Stand                                        14. Structure Violence (Azzes)                            15. 4648

Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Warner Music
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 21 June, 2011