World War Live: Battle of the Baltic Sea
Style: Power Metal
Release date: 19 August, 2011
Playing time: 77:02

World War Live-Battle of the Baltic Sea retraces one of Sabaton's new battles won in the world of metal. Still, why a live album now? This is a band that is touring extensively at the moment, so they have plenty of material to release, but again...

What was so special about this tour? Now, if you're an afficionado of the band, you should know they also are singing sailors, thus following a new trend. The Battle of the Baltic Sea immortalizes their show aboard the Silja Galaxy Baltic Sea ferry in 2010, also called "Sabatoncruise". The experience is to be reconducted this year.

It is true that Sabaton is a band to absolutely see live, not only for the visual show, that is worth the trip for sure. Their sound is truly something for itself, the compositions also easily caught my attention when they released Primo Victoria, though I'm usually rather hermetic to power metal.

The material I had access to is well delivered, very entertaining, a nice memory for the ones who attended the show and interesting as a document for the band, but I don't necessary need this. I'm still compelled by the sextet but sometimes I fear I have come to wondering if Sabaton might not be plagiating themselves.
Maybe this is the price to pay when a band is special: they will stick out anyway and sound just like themselves.

World War Live-Battle of the Baltic Sea is now out with two extra features: a bonus CD (12 live tracks) and a bonus live DVD!


Disc I
[Live at Sabatoncruise 2010]

01. The March To War (intro)
02. Ghost Division
03. Uprising
04. Aces In Exile
05. Cliffs Of Gallipoli
06. White Death
07. Swedish Pagans
08. Wolfpack
09. 401
10. The Art Of War
11. Attero Dominatus
12. The Price Of A Mile
13. Primo Victoria
14. Metal Medley
15. Dead Soldiers Waltz (outro)

Disc II
[World War Tour Live] [Limited First Edition bonus CD]

01. Screaming Eagles
02. Coat Of Arms
03. Into The Fire
04. Talvisota
05. Final Solution
06. Back In Control
07. Panzerkampf
08. 7734
09. Hellrider
10. Panzer Battalion
11. Rise Of Evil
12. 40:1

Disc III
[Limited First Edition bonus DVD]
+ Sabaton [Live at Rockstad Falun 2008]
+ Coat Of Arms [video clip]
+ Uprising [video clip]
+ Screaming Eagles [video clip]

Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Warner Music (Denmark)
Reviewed by: LyM
Date: 18 August, 2011