Time Machine 2011: Live in Cleveland
Style: Progressive Rock
Release date: 8 November, 2011
Playing time: 79:48 + 67:11

Time for a new Rush live album, recorded at Quicken Loans Arena, April 15, 2011 in Cleveland, Ohio. So what makes this release anything different that their previous live albums? First and foremost; they are playing the "Moving Pictures" album in its entirety, secondly; they have put together a set-list that offers something new, something old and almost all the songs people want to hear and thirdly; Rush is a force live on stage!

And the fun doesn't stop there; they even play two brand new songs from their upcoming 2012 album "Clockwork Angels"; "BU2B" and "Caravan" and both fits right in. And this live recording has finally gotten the sound Rush deserves, much better than on "Snakes & Arrows Live" and "R30": transparent and crystal clear.

I am sure some will miss some songs ("Natural Science", "One Small Victory", "Bravado" or "Roll the Bones" or ...), but given the circumstance that they do play en entire album they simply had to leave some of the classic songs out. Rest assured - the mandatory drum solo is hidden somewhere in the set and the Canadian trio is as tight as ever, delivers a first-class show and the crowd loves every minute of it.

So what more can you ask from a live recording... not a thing! "Time Machine 2011: Live in Cleveland" belongs close to the top of Rush live releases, and is in my humble opinion their best live album is a very long time.

Available as double CD, DVD and Blu-ray.


Disc 1
The Spirit of Radio (5:02)
02. Time Stand Still (5:16)
03. Presto (6:32)
04. Stick It Out (4:22)
05. Workin' Them Angels (4:44)
06. Leave That Thing Alone (5:13)
07. Faithless (5:57)
08. BU2B (4:23)
09. Free Will (5:29)
10. Marathon (6:29)
11. Subdivisions (5:30)
12. Tom Sawyer (4:53)
13. Red Barchetta (6:55)
14. YYZ (4:32)
15. Limelight (4:31)

Disc 2
01. The Camera Eye (10:10)
02. Witch Hunt (4:42)
03. Vital Signs (5:28)
04. Caravan (5:36)
05. Moto Perpetuo (Featuring Love for Sale) (8:22)
06. O'Malley's Break (1:33)
07. Closer to the Heart (3:28)
08. 2112 Overture / The Temple of Syrinx (7:10)
09. Far Cry (6:22)
10. La Villa Strangiato (7:40)
11. Working Man (6:40)

Label: Roadrunner Records
Distribution: Warner Music (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 18 November, 2011