REV 16:8
Style: Black Metal
Release date: 8 April, 2011
Playing time: 41:27

"The fourth angel poured out his bowl upon the sun, and it was given to it to scorch men with fire" (Rev 16:8). Members of this band also play (or have been playing) in bands like Bloodshed, IXXI, Decadence and Valkyrja. The band mixes an occult atmosphere with fast black metal parts. When you listen to the aggressive faster parts, you can recognize Marduk influences.

The production sounds a bit underground, but that is what a lot of fans of this genre like. The general level of the songs is o.k. and the vocals fit the music perfectly. Black metal fans will like this album, a combination of Swedish black metal bands and the Norwegian sound. Sometimes very fast like in the opener "Agenda", but at times they slow down to doom tempo. The only thing I have to criticize is the drum sound; they could have mixed it more up front. REV 16:8 plays black metal like it should be played, not to clean, not too well produced and with an occult and aggressive atmosphere.

Check this out if you are into the devil's music.


01. Agenda
02. Ashlands
03. Blackline Sundown
04. A Study in Patterns and Habits
05. The Chase
06. Serenade
07. Rust Retinal Vein
08. Coal Mirror
09. When Your Words Are Obsolete
10. Leave Me

Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Promotion: Sureshot Worx
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 1 April, 2011