Style: Melodic Power Metal
Release date: 14 June, 2011
Playing time: 57:33

Historians should be familiar with the year 1912; the year in which FIFA on June 1st decided that goalkeepers are only allowed to touch the ball with their hand inside the penalty area. For the Dutch it is the year in which Anthony Fokker created his first plane called 'De Spin' (The Spider). But for the rest of the world it will be known as the year in which Titanic hit an iceberg. The lyrics on this album are about the Titanic story.

This is Reinxeed's second album within a year and I must admit that it listens away easily. That is, if you like fast power metal with an occasional orchestral part and a lot of melody. You can describe their style as a mix of Dragonforce (speed), Avantasia, Sonata Arctica and Royal Hunt. Nothing new but done very professional. Tommy ReinXeed founder of this band is only 23 years old and is also known from the band Golden Resurrection, which he formed together with Christian Liljegren. That Tommy is a talent can not be ignored even more if you know he started this band back in 2002!

This is their fifth album and the band is very popular in Japan at the moment. I don't think they will reach the charts here in Europe, but for happy power metal fans this is an album they will like. The guitar work is excellent; the vocals are rather high (sometimes over the edge) and perhaps not the best around, but good enough. Personally I think the album could have done better with a no so clean production with a rougher edge, then they would get at least 10 points more. For fans of Golden Resurrection, Narnia, Divine Fire, Sonata Arctica, etc.

Keywords for this album: happy, catchy, melodic, fast, good guitar work, talented.


01. 1912
02. The Final Hour
03. Terror Has Begun
04. Spirit Lives On
05. Through the Fire
06. The Fall of Man
07. The Voyage
08. We Must Go Faster
09. Challenge the Storm
10. Reach For the Sky
11. Farewell                                                     12. Lost At Sea

Label: Liljegren Records/Doolittle Group
Distribution: Sound Pollution
Promotion: Connecting Music
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 7 June, 2011