Style: Progressive Rock
Release date: 21 January, 2011
Playing time: 62:00

Pallas is an institution in British Prog Rock and their debut album "The Sentinel" does stand as a cornerstone for the genre. "XXV" is the sequel to their opus magnum, and I think they have created an album that is as strong as "The Sentinel". They have created the best British Prog Rock albums in a long time - actually the last time I felt so overwhelmed by an album in this genre was probably one of the early Arena albums, sure IQ, It Bites, Kino and Frost etc. have all released interesting albums, but the real top notch album have been missing for some time, but the wait is over!

Pallas proves on "XXV" that they are (still) a force to be reckoned with in British Prog Rock and this album has all the trademarks and signatures that make this particular genre so unique and special. "XXV" shows a band that does not need to hide from anybody and should put them back up there with the likes of IQ and Marillion. The compositions are brilliant, the technical level is very high, the production well balanced and clear and this simply captures the essence of British Prog Rock.

Well done!


01. Falling Down
02. Crash and Burn
03. Something in the Deep
04. Monster
05. The Alien Messiah
06. XXV Part 1 - Twentyfive Good Honest Men
07. Young God
08. Sacrifice
09. Blackwood
10. Violent Sky
11. XXV Part 2 - The Unmakers Awake

Label: Music Theories Recordings
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 8 January, 2011