Sounds of Violence
Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: 28 January, 2011
Playing time: 45:03

History: In 1983 Nige Rockett starts a punk band called Onslaught, soon after they changed their style into raw thrash with satanic themes. Their debut 'Power from Hell' (with a song called "Death Metal" on it) is released in 1985. Vocalist Paul Mahoney is replaced by Sy Keeler and with him they record 'The Force', still an icon in the thrash genre. After signing a contract with the Label London Records, Sy is replaced by Steve Grimmett. With him they record the album 'In Search of Sanity', a more commercial album and the fans are not amused. Grimmett leaves the band and they quit in 1991. In 2004 the band re-unites with Sy Keeler back on vocals and with 'Killing Peace' they release a good thrash album. The band is back again and they play at several clubs and festivals.

Present: Now 4 years later 'Sound of Violence' is ready and with producer Jacob Hansen behind the buttons they are really back! There are two new members on this album; former members James Hinder (bass) and Alan Jordan (guitar) have been replaced by Jeff Williams (bass) and Andy Rosser-Davies (guitar). With Nige Rockett as the main song-writer, this change has no influence on the music and the songs. That Nige is a good song writer isn't news; just listen to the album 'The Force' and 'Killing Peace'. On this album however he tops himself, I think. Every track is a slam in the face and you must be bald (like me) if you don't bang your head all the time. Expect a modern thrash album, which can easily be put between the latest albums of  Exodus, Testament, Death Angel, Heathen and Forbidden. The music on this album is a kind of combination of these bands with an Onslaught sauce.

For the fans that can't wait until 28 January 2011; Onslaught did release a digital single on 17 December, 2010, which includes a cover version of Motorhead's "Bomber" with Phil Campbell and Tom Angelripper as guests. Enjoy!

Future: Onslaught has along with Legion of the Damned made the first thrash-hammers of 2011. With this album the band will again grow in popularity I think. They have already been confirmed for the stage of this year's Hammerfest at Pontins in North Wales, and I am sure they will be seen at many European Summer festivals on the continent too.

Highly recommended!


01. Into the Abyss (Intro)
02. Born for War
03. The Sound of Violence
04. Code Black
05. Rest in Pieces
06. Godhead
07. Hatebox
08. Antitheist
09. Suicideology
10. End of the Storm (Outro)

Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 13 January, 2011
Website: www.onslaughtfromhell.com