Omnium Gatherum
New World Shadows
Style: Melodic Death Metal
Release date: 7 February, 2011
Playing time: 51:56

Swedish bands such as Dark Tranquillity, At the Gates, In Flames, Arch Enemy, (early) Soil Work, etc., are easily acknowledged when the sub-genre, 'Melodic Death Metal' is situated on the shelf. Their recognizeable 'Gothenburg' sound may have been established in the minds of many listeners as the definite meaning of this 'Melodeath'. But of course it would merely be a facade to say that it is the only sound to exist in the genre; for there are bands with eccentric and outlandish approach you can find for instance, in obvious and depths of Finland, you witness: Omnium Gatherum.

Formed in 1996, Omnium Gatherum has released 4 albums and an EP for widely known labels; Nuclear Blast, Candlelight and Rage Of Achilles. Currently with a new label, Lifeforce Records - now comes their 5th and full-length album, 'New World Shadows'. In my thoughts, it is indeed a very promising album.

As I've hinted above, the sound they display are much diverse. Melodic Death with undeniable amount of Prog-rock elements. 'Extreme', perhaps is an easier way of putting it. Rather kindled with slower songs, with yet, heavy and aggressive punches.

'New World Shadows' is quite easy to grasp. Although, the creativity they display are none to be overstated as 'fast' and over 'shreddage' on the guitar. Instead, a more solid structure. Despite the straight-forwardness of the music, one can understand the attentiveness, maturity of their developed formula. And quite frankly, this route empathizes the verity that change or 'extreme' is not necessarily unsuitable.

Evidently, I've favored some songs more than others. And given are songs one might want to take into consideration. Songs: 'New World Shadows' (tidings of the clean vocals are performed by their mixer and the infamous, Dan Swano), 'Soul Journeys', 'Watcher of the Skies' and 'Ego'. 2011 is off to a good start with this one!


01. Everfields (09:17) 
02. Ego (04:07) 
03. New World Shadows (06:00)
04. Soul Journeys (04:54)
05. Nova Flame (04:10) 
06. An Infinite Mind (05:43)
07. Watcher of the Skies (04:17) 
08. The Distance (03:59) 
09. Deep Cold (09:29)

Label: Lifeforce Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 76/100
Reviewed by: Haydee G.
Date: 12 January, 2011