Style: Symphonic Metal
Release date: 2 December, 2011
Playing time: 74:55

The year ends with a big BANG, when one of the most anticipated albums of 2011 is released: Nightwish's "Imaginaerum".

What later on will be the soundtrack for a movie is the best symphonic metal album ever released! Nightwish takes us on their most sophisticated, visionary and adventurous journey ever and they have re-invented themselves and are pushing the boundaries, which they have been a catalyst for ever since they broke into the scene, and goes far beyond the expected. The only word that comes to mind is: opulent!

Toumas Holopainen has gone deep with this album and has created a very personal album. The music to back it up is breathtaking and has been perfectly produced. After a short intro that just builds up suspense we kick off with the powerful first single "Storytime" and for the next hour we are thrown up and down like in a well written movie. The course of action follows the formula of a well conceived action movie with bombastic parts nicely mixed with slower, storytelling parts before it all ends with a grand finale!

The music on "Imaginaerum" is clearly written for Anette Olzon's voice and she responds with an outstanding performance; and Nightwish hasn't taken any shortcuts and have been working with real musicians and choirs to elevate everything to unheard territories. The ten songs plus an intro and the title track, which is a classical summarization of the album set new standards in symphonic metal.

An absolute highlight of 2011 and an album that will rightfully appear on many Top 10 list's, their magnum opus if you will and the perfect way to end another great metal year!



01. Taikatalvi (2:35)
02. Storytime (5:22)
03. Ghost River (5:28)
04. Slow, Love, Slow (5:50)
05. I Want My Tears Back (5:08)
06. Scaretale (7:32)
07. Arabesque (2:57)
08. Turn Loose the Mermaids (4:20)
09. Rest Calm (7:03)
10. The Crow, the Owl and the Dove (4:10)
11. Last Ride of the Day (4:32)
12. Song of Myself (13:38)
     1. From a Dusty Bookshelf
     2. All That Great Heart Lying Still
     3. Piano Black
     4. Love
13. Imaginaerum (6:18)

Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Warner Music (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 90/100
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 6 December, 2011