Style: Melodic Death Metal
Release date: 26 September, 2011
Playing time: 53:14

This is the fifth record from this Greek melodic death combo. Again several guest appearances can be heard on this album. On the opening track "Delirium of the Fallen" we can enjoy the clean singing of Apollo Papathanasio (Spiritual Beggars, Firewind), a song in Arch Enemy/At the Gates style. On several other tracks Gus G (Ozzy Osbourne), Tomas Lindberg (At the Gates), Tom S. Englund (Evergrey) and John K (Biomechanical) contribute with their musical skills.

Fortunately there is one captain on the ship and that is Marios Iliopoulos. He has written some fine songs that have a lot of melody, but never loose the aggressiveness a real metal band needs. There is enough variation to be heard on the album. Thrash songs like "Cloaked in Wolf Skin" and "Hate Turns Black" are a big contrast to a song like "Solar Corona", but Nightrage gets away with it easily. That last song has a beautiful singing part of Tom Englund and that just gives the song the extra it needs. I would take turns on two wheels when I would say we have heard it all before and there is nothing new. I know you are right, it all sounds a lot like Arch Enemy/At the Gates and other bands in the genre, but the execution and the song writing is above average and it is a feast to listen to.

The album doesn't win the price for most original album of the year and it will not end in top of most of the end of the year lists, but this is an above average melodic death album and the band deserves to be listened to.


01. So Far Away
02. Delirium of the Fallen
03. Insidious
04. Wrapped in Deceitful Dreams
05. Hate Turns Black
06. Sham Piety
07. Cloaked in Wolf Skin
08. This World is Coming to an End
09. Utmost End of Pain
10. Poignant Memories
11. Hush of Night                                               12. Poisoned Pawn                                            13. Solar Eclipse                                               14. Solar Corona                                               15. Emblem of Light

Label: Lifeforce Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 75/100
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 23 September, 2011