One Night of Insurrection
Style: Power Metal
Release date: 25 February, 2011
Playing time: 65:50

Normally live albums are ancient history. Nowadays the band releases a DVD and as extra's you also get the songs from the DVD on normal CD. Nothing wrong with that of course, but I always have found it difficult to discover the benefits of a live album with songs you already know and are executed better on the original record. An exception like Judas Priest’s ‘Unleashed in the East’ is a minority.

As a writer for this webzine we only get the music on CD and not the DVD. No idea how the quality of the video recordings on the DVD is, so I just stick to the music. The DVD and CD are recorded because of Nightmare's 30th anniversary. Of course their hometown Grenoble was the place to celebrate that. With 4 songs their latest record "Insurrection" is highly represented. The rest of the tracks you can trace back their albums: 'Genetic Disorder', 'The Dominion Gate' and 'Cosmovision'. There are no tracks from the first 2 albums on the CD. On the DVD however you can find more tracks: "Hallucinations", "Mind Matrix Schizophrenia", "Power of the Universe", "Lord of the Sky" and "Trust a Crowd" are added there.

The execution of the songs is o.k., but I don't get something extra out of it. For fans only I guess.


01. Intro
02. Eternal Winter
03. Wicked White Demon
04. Heretic
05. Legions of the Rising Sun
06. Secret Rules
07. Queen of Love & Pain
08. Three Miles Island
09. Cosmovision
10. The Winds of Sin
11. Target for Revenge
12. The Gospel of Judas
13. The Watchtower

Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 19 February, 2011