Night In Gales
Five Scars
Style: Melodic Death Metal
Release date: 7 November, 2011
Playing time: 44:41

After making four albums we didn't hear anything from this German band for a long while. Suddenly after 10 years they have come up with their fifth album 'Five Scars'. The band plays straight melo death with high tempo changed by slower parts. The grunts are varied with clean singing and I have to say that the clean vocals are better than on their earlier albums. Dan Swäno sat behind the mixing buttons and that gives the album a good sound.

The biggest part of the tracks are rather up-tempo, but the songs "The Tides of November" (with violin part) and "A Mouthful of Death" have more slower doomier parts in it too. The band matured, especially in writing better songs. The comeback of this band is a rather good one and the new album is far from redundant. If you are a sucker for Melodic Death, you should certainly take a listen to this one.


01. Epitaph
02. This Neon Grave
03. Days of the Mute
04. Five Scars
05. Void Venture
06. The Tides of November
07. Life Denied
08. Endtrip
09. Whiteout
10. A Mouthful of Death                                     11. Bloodsong                                                   12. Blackmouth Blues                                         13. The Wake

Label: Lifeforce Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 30 October, 2011