Outshine the Sun
Style: Melodic Metal
Release date: 19 August, 2011
Playing time: 49:49

This is British Neonfly's debut record and not a bad one for a first delivery. They have already made an EP called 'Clever Disguise', parted way with their first singer and enlisted Willy Norton to take his place. Willy has a rather high voice, but it never gets irritating. Main songwriter in the band is guitarist Frederick Thunder. He wrote some nice songs that are situated between melodic rock and power metal.

It all sounds rather radio friendly, with some sing a long parts but also supported by heavy guitar riffs and nice solos. Epic tracks like "Ship with No Sails", melodic metal like in "Broken Wings", the power metal track "Reality Shift" and a rock 'n roll song "I Think I Saw a U.F.O." can all be heard on this album. The band describes their music as 'power metal meets stadium rock meets pumping rock'. Perhaps that will give you an idea about what to expect. I just call it a nice melodic rock/metal album, not ground shaking but also far from boring. Nice first album and a nice base to build on.


01. Broken Wings
02. The Enemy
03. Ship With No Sails
04. A Gift to Remember
05. The Revenant
06. The Ornament
07. Reality Shift
08. Spitting Blood
09. Morning Star
10. The Messenger
11. I Think I Saw a U.F.O.

Label: Rising Records
Distribution: Gordeon Music
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 9 August, 2011