Siamese God
Style: Progressive Metal
Release date: 9 September, 2011
Playing time: 55:30

Take the song structures/arrangements of Nevermore, the guitar sound of a band like Korn and the attitude/aggression of Pantera and you have a little idea what to expect with Need. The vocals are a combination of aggressive harsh, cleaner, growling and sometimes even whispering ones. In the cleaner parts, Jon V uses a similar singing style like Warrel Dane, but there is nothing wrong with that in my opinion. The drums are very tight like we know it from Pantera. That the band uses more modern sometimes industrial sounds can be heard in the track "Soon".

The style progressive metal is a little bit misleading, the music is far from the Dream Theater sound, but the style is certainly progressive. In several songs there is a NU metal connection too, but the band adds enough old school metal riffs to still sound interesting. It is not an album that sticks after a one time listen; I had to listen to it for quite some times to get to like it. The variation in styles (metal, prog, grunge, emo, industrial, Nu-metal), the tempo changes and the rather complex songs see to that. In the last song there is a 2 minute silent part starting at 7 and a half minute. 2 minutes later the music starts again. So it is not one very long song, but two songs divided by silence, the reason? We teach you a lesson is silence!

This second album from the Greek band Need is quite an interesting product. It's heavy, it's aggressive, it's variable, it's complex, it has enough softer and nicer listening parts and the production is good. The album was first released in Greece in 2010, now the rest of Europe gets the chance to get a copy too.


01. Rainy Pieces of Hell
02. Soon
03. Lie Before You Sleep
04. Flesh Machines
05. Siamese God
06. Inbetween
07. War/ning
08. C.M.R.
09. The Lesson

Label: SAOL/H'Art/Zebralution
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 65/100
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 4 September, 2011