Style: Black / Death Metal
Release date: 21 February, 2011
Playing time: 46:01

After the release of their third album ‘The Third Antichrist’ (1999) the guitar player Martin Halfdan left the band. The other guitar player Sebastian Ramstedt attracts in NECROPHOBIC his colleague Johan Bergeback from his previous band EXUMED (later the project’s name is changed to MORPHEUS). This line up broke the three years long silence with ‘Bloodhymns’.


Obviously the Swedish are tuned democratic because each change in the line up reflects to their style. The fresh death metal blood set up their music in this gender. The veterans Tobias Sidegard (bass, vocals) and Joakim Sterner (drums) contributed with melodies which remind of the debut ‘The Nocturnal Silence’ (1993). The symbol of NECROPHOBIC – a pentagram in a pentagon is again basic feature in the cover artwork. As if this speaks for the traditions of the band and that they founded again their face.


The ten fast and aggressive tracks are out of the black metal clichés but are crippled by specific melodies. There is no bright favorite amongst them, and they set NECROPHOBIC on the map of metal at a distinctive place. This is the only album of the band which first release is made by Hammerheart Records. The love of the label toward the musicians has great results. You’ve got the chance to be convinced again in this!


01. Taste of Black

02. Dreams Shall Flesh

03. Act of Rebellion

04. Shadowseeds

05. Mourningsoul

06. Helfire

07. Cult of Blood

08. Roots of Heldrasill

09. Blood Anthem

10. Among the Storms

Label: Hammerheart Records
Distribution: Hammerheart Records
Artwork rating: 87/100
Reviewed by: Maria D. S.
Date: 25 February, 2011