The Art of Fear
Style: Thrash/Death Metal
Release date: 3 June, 2011
Playing time: 62:26

Age of Fear is a compilation by Italian thrash/death posse Necrodeath – spawned in the underground in 1985, it’s one of the earliest examples of extreme metal in Southern (read: Catholic) Europe, thus their cult is just about as strong as that of Cthulhu, though a lot less secretive

In spite of a long period of inactivity between ’89 and ’98, Necrodeath has visited a lot of different places musically speaking. From almost Metallica-like pure thrash to raw, grinding, oldschool death, they rule most of it with a natural ease. They even made a melodic heavy piece, in the veins of early King Diamond – ”Queen of Desire” – that figures on Age of Fear in two different incarnations: the original that kick ass and a new version that actually kick even more ass! The new version ads a piano and the female voice of Giorgia Gueglio of Mastercastle, and proves at least one point: That Giorgia should disband her crappy power/goth/metalcore ensemble and start making music for grownups on a more regular basis.

Age of Fear also has a few other goodies for the collectors, such as a fairly well done cover version of Slayers ”Black Magic” (though they don’t really ad anything to the song) and a live version of one of Necrodeath’s classics ”The Theory”. I guess that if you don’t know Necrodeath already this album would really be the perfect way to start your aquiantedness – they’ve managed to select just the right songs from a catalogue of 26 years.


01. Mater Tenebrarum
02. Awakening of Dawn
03. I.N.R.I
04. Smell of Blood
05. Master of Morphine
06. Forever Slave
07. Queen of Desire
08. Burn and Deny
09. Hate and Scorn
10. Flame of Malignance
11. Eucharistical Sacrifice
12. At the Mountains of Madness
13. The Theory (live)
14. Queen of Desire (Onyric Version)
15. Black Magic (Slayer Cover)

Label: Scarlet Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Martin Schjönning
Date: 12 May, 2011