My Inner Burning
Eleven Scars
Style: Melodic Gothic Metal
Release date: 22 March, 2011
Playing time: 43:03

Germany’s female-fronted gothic metal band My Inner Burning offer something a little bit different from the normal goth metal style.

On their second full-length album, Eleven Scars, My Inner Burning display loads of aggression mixed with melody, keyboard atmospheres and heavy down-tuned riffs. It’s dynamic and powerful, yet accessible and radio friendly. It will appeal to the gothic rock crowd of Evanescence, Lacuna Coil and Within Temptation, but My Inner Burning offer a heaviness that lacks in the aforementioned bands.

The layered vocals of Rebekka “Becky” Gaber is the strong point to My Inner Burning. She blends her angelic vocals together with the growls of guitarist Jörg Janssen. Although, sometimes their formula is a bit predictable, it’s still a diverse and entertaining mixture. The band’s sometimes pop and electronica elements adds a surprising flavor as well.

“Masquerade” and “Electrified” are on the heavy side, while “When I’m Gone” is an emotional power ballad. Towards the end of the CD, songs “Done with Denial” and “Enemy of Mine” get a little sappy. But CD closer “Home-Sick” is a good close to an overall good album.

My Inner Burning’s Eleven Scars is a decent sophomore release. It’s definitely metal, but it also has a goth, rock, pop and electronica side to it.

01. Masquerade
02. Analize
03. Electrified
04. For the Last Time
05. When I’m Gone
06. Demons
07. Done with Denial
08. Gone Wrong
09. Enemy of Mine
10. New Breed
11. Home-Sick
Label: SPV/Steamhammer Records
Distribution: Playground Music (Scandinavia)
Reviewed by: Kelley Simms
Date: 12 March, 2011