Come Read the Words Forbidden
Style: Melodic Power Metal
Release date: 21 October, 2011
Playing time: 54:21

Morton is the brainchild of band leader Max Morton, and what began entirely as a studio project has now turned into regular band. Four of the songs that kicked it all off are also on this album; "Black Witch", "Oblivion", "Werewolf Hunt" and "Grimoire" and it also clear that the band has progressed since they wrote those four songs! The remaining nine songs have more depth and just show a better side of the band.

Not that the four songs set the album back in any way, the feel surrounding them is just different. The power metal with pinches of symphonic and neo-classical metal is situated in the more melodic end of the spectre. The well produced album sounds good and the band has plenty to be proud of, but their influences are pretty obvious and I wish they would have show that they actually hails from a rather remote place on the metal map: Ukraine.

But they threat the safe path with their European influenced power metal and ends up with a very solid, yet unspectacular album that kicks off with a very strong trio of songs... and if they haven't convinced you be the end of those, then there's no reason for you to listen on... the rest; do hear all of this fine debut album...

01. Calling for the Storm (3:18)
02. Eaglemark (5:04)
03. Brotherhood of Light (4:02)
04. Sleeping King (4:28)
05. Losing Faith (3:54)
06. We are the Shades (3:10)
07. Oblivion (5:19)
08. Grimoire (4:45)
09. Burning Prisoner (4:34)
10. Werewolf Hunt (3:53)
11. Black Witch (3:32)
12. Azrael (2:14)
13. Weeping Bell (5:34)
Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 75/100
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 20 October, 2011