The Metamorphosis Melody
Style: Symphonic Folk Metal
Release date: 22 April, 2011
Playing time: 56:18

Nordic folk metal band, Midnattsol, weave a tapestry of epic proportions based on Norwegian folk tales on the band’s third full-length studio album, The Metamorphosis Melody. Midnattsol means “Midnight sun” in Norwegian.

Midnattsol is similar to Leaves’ Eyes. Ironically, vocalist Carmen Elise is Liv Kristine’s sister. Although her voice is not as commanding as Liv’s, it’s still effective within the confines of Midnattsol.

Musically, Midnattsol is a bit heavier and more powerful than some of the over-saturated gothic/symph fluff of Leaves’ Eyes.

Intro “Alva” opens with a soft flute and strings arrangement which soon turns into an epic, orchestral melody. It lays the groundwork to some mighty guitar leads of the title track. Carmen Elise’s vocals are angelic but not too operatic. She can carry a tune for sure - it’s melodic, with loads of harmony. "Spellbound" is an enchanting melody mixed with a heavy riff, pounding drum fills and keyboard melodies for atmosphere.

With the over-crowded female-fronted symphonic metal genre, it’s hard for a band to make its mark. but there’s enough diversity on The Metamorphosis Melody to please fans of symphonic and folk metal.


01. Alva
02. The Metamorphosis Melody
03. Spellbound
04. The Tide
05. A Poet's Prayer

06. Forlorn
07. Kong Valemons Kamp
08. Goodbye
09. Forvandlingen

10. Motets Makt
11. My Re-Creation

Label: Napalm Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kelley Simms
Date: 16 April, 2011
Website: www.myspace.com/midnattsolfolk