Circle of 8
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: 7 November, 2011
Playing time: 60:46

Possessed, Nasty Savage, Steel Assassin, Mayhem, Hades, Hallow's Eve, Hirax, Pathfinder, Dark Angel, The Obsessed and Martyr. What do they have in common? All bands delivered a track for Metal Blades Metal Massacre VI (1985). Is it a coincidence that they are back in the Metal Blade stable or was it meant to be? One thing is for sure, this is their best album so far. The 2009 EP 'Fear' was already o.k., but the band has grown a lot musically.

The song writing improved and the production of this album is better too. The album has an 80's sound but with both feet standing in 2011. The songs sound very metal and are a mix of Flotsam & Jetsam (modern sound), Lefay, a fast Iron Maiden and with a Pantera vibe. Sometimes the song has a speed-metal tempo like for example in "Art of Deception". 80's metal fans will find a lot they will like on this album; good (sometimes) high pitched vocals, howling solos in very logical and recognizable written songs. It sounds well-known, without being a copy or duplicate. The last song is a new recording of the band's most famous track "Speed of Samurai" (Maiden on speed). After listening to this new album for the first time I was not convinced immediately, but after a few more spins, the songs landed.

Fans of Flotsam & Jetsam, Vicious Rumors, Iron Maiden and eighties (speed) metal in general should give this album a chance.


01. D.I.
02. Afterlife
03. Art of Deception
04. Circle of 8
05. All Warriors Blood
06. The Uninvited
07. Insensible Scream
08. Scene of Hell
09. Fake
10. Justified Killing                                             11. Locked                                                        12. Speed of Samurai

Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 3 November, 2011