Own the Crown
Style: True/Power Metal
Release date: 2 September, 2011
Playing time: 135:25

Majesty brings “true metal” from Germany (not to be confused with the other Majesty which are from Berlin). The 2 disc set Own the Crown Best Oo Compilation is packed with 27 tracks from their previous four releases. Disc 1 is the best of compilation while Disc 2 is full of rare, previously unreleased tracks, a live track, alternative versions and two new songs.

Bluntly put, there’s nothing remotely original about Majesty. They have a fixation for Painkiller-era Judas Priest an obvious infatuation with Manowar. You can say they lean toward Wizard, Mystic Prophecy, Metalium, Storm Warrior and even possess Rhapsody of Fire symphonic elements as well.

Most of the choruses are very chantable. There’s ripping guitar solos, chugging riffs, blistering double bass, a thundering rhythm section and the band wouldn’t be complete without some cheesy sword and sorcery imagery. The vocals of Tarek Maghary are hoarse and raspy. He does have a blatant Halford complex at times.

Majesty do play some good, epic power metal, but I guess it’s up to the listener’s own personal preference if they want another Manowar copy or the same kind of German power metal that is already out there in abundance. If you’re already a fan of Majesty’s previous work, then you will most likely have most of these songs, but for the newbie, this is a great start to get yourself familiar with Majesty’s brand of metal.

If you’re into this type of metal, then Own the Crown Best of Compilation is an enjoyable listening experience.


Disc 1
01. Metal Law
02. Sword & Sorcery
03. Reign in Glory
04. Hail to Majesty
05. Guardians of the Dragongrail
06. Keep it True
07. Aria of Bravery
08. Fields of War
09. Hellforces
10. Son of Metal
11. Heavy Metal Battlecry
12. Sons of a New Millenium
13. Into the Stadiums
14. Metal to the Metalheads

Disc 2
01. Own the Crown
02. Metal on the Road
03. Snow is on the Mountains
04. Freedom Warriors
05. Halloween
06. Geh den Weg
07. Make it, not Break it
08. Guardians of the Dragongrail
09. Troopers of Steel
10. Pray and Die
11. Into the Night
12. We Will Ride
13. Guidance to Death

Label: Massacre Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kelley Simms
Date: 31 August, 2011