The Visitation
Style: Hard Rock
Release date: 17 January, 2011
Playing time: 57:24

What better way to kick off a new reviewing year than doing a review of one of a life-long companion, music-wise: Magnum.

Magnum has been delivering albums for a vey long time, at a constant high level, off course not all at the highest level and there have been a few albums that weren't as complete as expected. Many claim they hit their prime with their mid-80s albums "On a Storyteller's Night" and "Vigilante", and those two albums will forever be the measurement against any new album, but their latest albums are in my opinion showing a rejuvenated and recharged band playing and creating music as strong as in their prime.

"The Visitation" sounds and feels like Magnum; the trademarks and roots remains the same and within the safe confines they have created ten classic Magnum songs that will go down like milk and honey among Magnum fans world-wide. And that is just the thing about them: they sound like they have always done, but they have never ever repeated themselves! They have evolved within the small niche without sacrificing anything.

Magnum is doing what they do best, at a very high level and with continuity that leaves nothing to be desired for. Another stellar album from the British masters of Hard Rock.

01. Black Skies (5:53)
02. Doors To Nowhere (5:43)
03. The Visitation (5:48)
04. Wild Angels (5:41)
05. Spin Like A Wheel (7:21)
06. The Last Frontier (5:29)
07. Freedom Day (6:22)
08. Mother Nature's Final Dance (5:04)
09. Midnight Kings (4:49)
10. Tonight's The Night (4:53)
Label: SPV/Steamhammer
Distribution: Playground Music (Scandinavia)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: 2 January, 2011