Grim Reality EP
Style: Murder Metal
Release date: 25 April, 2011
Playing time: 29:00

My extended gratitude goes out to the good people at Hammerheart Records. Why? Simple. They are about to reissue one of the most fantastic metal releases ever. It was an album that I never actually owned myself, originally released as it was in 1987 by Decomposed Records, and therefore not so commonly available in my vicinity. I had a cassette tape copy that I cherished until the bloody tape broke!

I'll respect, perhaps even accept, that you upon listening to the debut release of serial killer lovers Macabre will wonder what the fuck I'm all about and why this is so utterly superb.

I'll also respect that you either A. were born yesterday and therefore don't understand shit about shit, or that you B. have so-called taste and consequently possibly no sense of humour whatsoever.

Fact is that this EP blew me so completely way somewhere in 1987 or 1988 with its over the top drumming, over the top bass, over the top guitars and ditto singing. Not to mention the weird as hell production that was certainly nothing like Whitesnake, Maiden, Metallica, Megadeth or whatever we were used to at the time. It was NOTHING like anything we knew!

This EP opened wide the gates to murder metal and the musical onslaught that was then and still is Macabre, a weird trio from Chicago without whom metal would have been so much more dull.

The reissue comes with the original version of the EP plus a version of all songs remixed by Neil Kernon (Cannibal Corpse, Flotsam & Jetsam, Deicide, Nile, Nevermore, Exhumed). Not that the remixes are necessary - I'm happy with just the original versions!

01. Serial Killer
02. Mr. Albert Fish (Was Children Your Favorite Dish?)
03. Mass Murderer
04. Son of Sam
05. Hot Rods to Hell
06. Ed Gein
07. Serial Killer
08. Mr. Albert Fish (Was Children Your Favorite Dish?)
09. Mass Murderer
10. Son of Sam
11. Hot Rods to Hell
12. Ed Gein
Label: Hammerheart Records
Distribution: Hammerheart Records
Artwork rating: 40/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: 23 April, 2011