Legion of the Damned
Descent into Chaos
Style: Thrash Metal
Release date: 7 January, 2011
Playing time: 43:35

The story of this Dutch thrash band is already known by many. Changing their name from Occult into Legion of the Damned got things rolling for them. Just before this review I put on their last record under the flag of Occult: 'Elegy for the Weak'. Since the name change the music hasn't changed that much. There is of course musical changes, but not big ones, OK, the production is better and the songs are more balanced on this 'Descent into Chaos'. After 4 LOTD albums with producer Andy Classen, they decided to ask Peter Tagtren to do this one.

The sound of the album is perhaps a little clearer, but for the rest there are no big differences compared to the predecessor. LOTD fans don't expect that to happen and they can be pleased with this new thrash-attack. Heavy riffs that enter your head again like a chainsaw and the influences of early Kreator and Slayer still are there. "Night of the Sabbath" is the highlight in my opinion, the other tracks are all very good and there are no fillers.

Motorhead has released the same record every year ever since they started, so why should Legion of the Damned need to change? As long as they deliver such high clash riff-oriented songs, you don't hear me complaining. The number one Dutch thrash band can again be proud of their new record. They continue on their journey and all fans can buy this one blindfolded. The standard is set by LOTD;  Onslaught, Destruction and Lazarus A.D. are warned!


01. Descent into Chaos (1:50)
02. Night of the Sabbath (3:32)
03. War is in My Blood (3:35)
04. Shrapnel Rain (4:02)
05. Holy Blood, Holy War (4:14)
06. Killzone (4:02)
07. Lord of the Flies (5:22)
08. Desolation Empire (4:25)
09. The Hand of Darkness (4:34)
10. Repossessed (4:52)
11. Legion of the Damned (3:07)

Label: Massacre Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 11 January, 2011
Website: www.myspace.com/legionofthedamned