Lock Up
Necropolis Transparent
Style: Grindcore/Death Metal
Release date: 1 July, 2011
Playing time: 40:23

Super groups, something we all look forward to when they emerge but at the same time dread because it has happened so often that what could have been something spectacular turns out to be just a blob in the ocean of mediocrity. Lock Up is indeed a super group boasting Tomas Lindbjerg (At the Gates,) Shane Embury (Napalm Death,) Nicholas Barker (ex-Cradle of Filth, ex-Dimmu Borgir) and Anton Reisenegger (Pentagram), but this time around I had no fear of mediocrity since I had already heard the band before and thus I knew that Lock Up was capable of delivering the goods. And I was not disappointed!

Nothing fancy here, just an old school mixture of grindcore and death metal. Not a bad thing when executed in such a professional manner as it is done here. Professional execution yes, but not cold or uninspired. This is groovy stuff and the joy of playing is evident. The music is filled with energy and the short tracks ensures that the individual track never looses momentum. The album as a whole is as varied as I think it is possible for the genre and thus keeps being interesting for all of the just over 40 minutes. So if you feel like banging your head to some no nonsense music go get the new Lock Up album!


01. Brethren Of The Pentagram
02. Accelerated Mutation
03. The Embodiment Of Paradox And Chaos
  [feat. Jeff Walker]
04. Necropolis Transparent
  [feat. Peter Tägtgren]
05. Parasite Drama
  [feat. Jeff Walker]
06. Anvil Of Flesh
07. Rage Incarnate Reborn
08. Unseen Enemy
  [feat. Jeff Walker]
09. Stygian Reverberations
10. Life Of Devastation
11. Roar Of A Thousand Throats
12. Infiltrate And Destroy
13. Discharge The Fear
  [feat. Jeff Walker]
14. Vomiting Evil
15. Stigmatyr [bonus]
16. Through The Eyes Of My Shadow Self
  [feat. Peter Tägtgren]
17. Tartarus (Instrumental)

Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: Warner Music (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 88/100
Reviewed by: Steen Schøn
Date: 17 August, 2011
Website: www.myspace.com/lockup