Signs of Decay
Style: Blackened Death
Release date: 26 September, 2011
Playing time: 45:59

"We shall define the word faith as follows: Believing in a superior entity, a notion which, in mankind, in its fragility, confused about its future, seeks answers through faith, help and comfort in order to keep on living, hoping that its existence has a meaning. That faith is then transformed by men, perverted and spoiled into a tool to achieve selfish purposes. Thus religion was born". This is just one phrase I quote from the band's ideas and it might give you a view on what they are into and what their lyrics are about.

Such statements and views have to go hand in hand with aggressive music and so it does. Not a band for wimps this Livarkahil. The music is a mix of death metal with some black influences and more modern mechanical sounds and rhythms. Think of a mix between Behemoth, Slipknot and Morbid Angel. Add vocals in Amon Amarth kind of style and you should have an idea. Besides that they have rather melodic parts and the overall style is very bombastic. Combining all these things gives the band a rather original and recognizable sound. The music is technical and the combination of thrashy riffs and brutal parts are a pleasure to listen to. Another band from France that means business and I haven't seen the Signs of Decay in their music yet. Decent and nice recording.


01. In Nomine Patris
02. When Hell is Near
03. Quiet Heresy
04. The End of Everything
05. Art of Bleeding
06. ... We Hail the Victory
07. Above All Hatred
08. The Flesh of All Hatred
09. In Light We Die
10. Heaven Shall Fall
11. Signs of Decay

Label: Listenable Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 60/100
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 22 September, 2011