Liquid Graveyard
The Fifth Time I Died
Style: Avant Garde Alternative Progressive Gothic Death
Release date: 28 March, 2011
Playing time: 51:25

Former Cancer front man John Walker formed this band in the summer of 2006. It hasn't a lot to do with the death metal he played with Cancer. The style Liquid Graveyard plays isn't easy to describe. You can call it Avant garde alternative progressive gothic death metal, but even then you have no idea how they sound.

One thing is sure, it isn't easy stuff to listen to and I am not always amused by Raquel Walker's vocals. Especially the growls are not very convincing. Sometimes she uses semi-spoken parts but also soprano high ones. Also on the soprano part she can't compete with the known female fronted gothic bands. After 4 songs I loose the attention because the songs are just not strong enough and after a while it gets bored. When you want to shine, the vocals should be much stronger and the songs are just too average.

Perhaps there are people that like this kind of hybrid metal, for me they just mix too many styles and because of that they forgot to write songs that stick in your mind and have a head and a tail. Not my kind of thing! But don't let that stop you to take a listen!


01. I Colossus
02. Violent Skies
03. Attractor
04. Reflections
05. The Fifth Time I Died
06. Expendable
07. The Glorious Bitter Seeds
08. Beholder
09. Invisible Names
10. Interlude
11. Liquid Graveyard

Label: Rising Records
Distribution: Cargo
Promotion: Gordeon Music Promotion
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: 21 March, 2011