Spiral Shadow
Style: Sludge Metal
Release date: 25 October, 2010
Playing time: 40:11

The music on “Spiral Shadow” is sludge with a heavy psych edge that is both addictive and a sheer listening pleasure that only grows with repeated listening. I have found much pleasure in this release and I rank it as the best sludge album I had the pleasure to hear in 2010. It is also in my view the best album so far from a band that is still progressing forward.

It is easy to compare Kylesa, because of the style and because of the fact that they hail from Savannah, to fine bands like Mastodon and Baroness but is important to stress that there is also a lot of difference from those bands. Kylesa is groovy as Hell and they lack most of those progressive elements that are an important part of said two bands.

The musicianship this album is excellent and the vocals from both guitarists are very strong and work very well with their guitar work. I have really soft spot for Laura Pleasants voice but it is together with the vocal exercises of Philip Cope it really shines. As for the guitar riffs I can only say that the deliver the whole way as well. Having two drummers as well makes the sound even more massive and to top it off the production is just like it should be.

I will not recommend a single track since they are all very catchy and most of the choruses just stay in the head of the listener long after the songs has finished. It is hard to say anything bad about this album and I can only recommend it to any fan of sludge, stoner or doom for that matter.


01. Tired Climb
02. Cheating Synergy
03. Drop Out
04. Crowded Road
05. Don’t Look Back
06. Distance Closing In
07. To Forget
08. Forsaken
09. Spiral Shadow
10. Back and Forth
11. Dust

Label: Season of Mist
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Steen Schøn
Date: 6 May, 2011